Modern technology allows organisations and governments to follow most of our movements and online activity. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Recent technological advances have made it much easier for governments and commercial organisations to record where we are and what we do online. While this may have prevented some crime, I believe that this constant monitoring is a negative development overall, as it takes away our right to privacy. There is no doubt that the CCTV cameras placed all over most cities have prevented some crimes. Having said that, the fact that crime has not fallen in proportion to the increase in CCTV shows that in practice it is only partially effective. With the excuse of protecting us against terrorism, our communications can be secretly monitored by government organisations, even if we are not suspected of doing anything wrong. In my opinion, this is out of proportion to the threat of terrorism and goes beyond what any government should do. In addition to this, records of our personal internet activity are sold, without our permission, to companies to help them sell things to us. The technology to do this is developing much faster than laws can limit it. In my opinion, this allows companies to put profit before ethics, which is a major minus point. Even more seriously, many believe that our internet data is being collected and then used to influence our political decisions. While lawmakers try to control this, in reality the techniques of Artificial Intelligence are developing so quickly that this is difficult or impossible. Breakthroughs in surveillance technology, together with its increased secret use by many governments, mean that we are in danger of losing our privacy completely. Overall, therefore, I believe the negatives of constant monitoring outweigh the positives.