Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Jurisdiction is an important aspect to deal with criminals in our society. Different countries have their own set of rules and regulation. In Britain and Australia there is no provision to see past criminal records of any criminals, and thus provides an opportunity for them to escape from getting accused. I completely agree with the suggestions that this mall practice should be amended. It is not a good idea to no access the past criminal records. This creates problems in prooving crime and there will be no justice in society. Another problem is that the crime rate will increase in the area as less fear of punishment and they are not behind bars. For example, Australia has a high rate of racism against foreign nationals. If there were provision to look at criminals previous records, these crimes would have fallen drastically. In another word, if barristers can see the past records of any prosecutors, it can help in allocating proper punishment to the accused. For instance, the USA courts allow to find previous criminal records of criminals, hence verdict is delivered appropriately and in a timely manner. Consequently, the crime rate has fallen sharply in the last few decades. Criminals have no chance of escaping as all their data are saved in police custody. In conclusion, in order to get optimum punishment to those who commit a crime, past records are required. This system provides all the available information which help lawyers to pronounce suitable fine and confinements. I totally agree with this statement that this practise should be changed as suggested by some proponents to deliver justice to each and every individual of society.