Some people believe that the best way to travel within a city is by car. Others believe that it is best to travel by bicycle. Discuss both and give your opinion.

For travelling within a city, which out of the two – bicycles or cars – is the best vehicle? Many, indubitably, feel safe driving cars; contrarily, in my perspective, it is the cycles that are not only the safest but also the healthiest option. There is a school of thought that one is better protected in a car. Various safety features, such as seat belts, airbags and antilock brakes, available in cars besides the vehicle’s solid structure make a few believe so. Consequently, the belief is held that to avoid serious injuries or fatality in road accidents, one must prefer cars to any two-wheeler even while driving within a city. However, in actuality, bicycles involve lesser risk than other vehicles. Since automobiles, for example, cars and buses, are run in fast lanes of city roads with a speed limit usually over forty kilometres per hour, the probability of severe damage is significantly higher. On the opposite side, separate lanes exist for cyclists within cities, and by wearing proper protective gear, that is helmet, elbow and knee guard, gloves and so on, one is far more guarded. In addition to the security provided, bicycles are best for fitness. The the reason is the other fuel-powered vehicles lack, but bicycles include physical movement, which reduces several joint as well as muscles related problems. From my personal experience, had I sat around for weeks and did nothing instead of cycling, my hamstring injury would not have been healed within days. Moreover, pedalling for a short distance is proven to be positive for the heart, shedding extra calories and improving daily activities, like balancing, walking and stair climbing. All this contributes to the long life of the cyclist. To recapitulate, the notion of cars being safer than bicycles is flawed, and the latter is far more beneficial for one’s well-being; therefore, bicycles are the best when it comes to driving a vehicle within a city.