Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The increase of the duration of sentences for prisoners is the better way to defeat crime, according to many people, while some people believe there are different and better solutions to solve this issue. This essay will discuss both these points of view and argue in favor of the latter. On the one hand, to guarantee the respect of law and protect everyone from criminal actions, it is crucial the subscription of strict lows and hard punishments, on the base of the gravity of the guilt. Giving longer prison sentences could be the way to reduce crime, discourage the ones who would commit an illegal action and make our countries more secure. Moreover, the certainness of the punishment could be the first step in the war against criminality. On the other hand, there are better ways to decrease illegality, without have recourse to longer imprisonments, for instance rising the security on the streets and trying to reduce the poverty and lack of education that affect many areas and quartiers in each place of the world. In fact, the link between low quality of life and high rate of crime has been frequently demonstrated in various realities. Likewise, it has been observed that reducing the harder sentence decreases substantially the ciminality rate and illegal incidents. For instance, restorative justice is a great way to help people to recover their lives and become better citizens. In my opinion it is more auspicial this complex phenomenon to be considered in all its complex sperctrum, therefore restoring someone's precious life through educational programmes is more valid that just be simpley focused on punishment anf justice. To sum up the stringency of sentences and punishments has been proved not to be efficient enough against crime, while it is better to guess the different causes of criminality development and adopt different and resolutive solutions, like restorative programmes.