Students are becoming more and more reliant on the Internet. While the Internet is convenient, it has many negative effects and its use for educational purposes should be restricted. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The advent of the internet is the revolutionary advancement of the 21st century. Even though it is a boon for the public yet it is a major concern these days as the majority of the pupil are relying on the internet these days. On the flip side, unsupervised usage of the internet by the students can lead to major problems. I agree with the given statement as there many disadvantages of its unregulated usage, which i will share in the upcoming paragraphs. To commence with, there is a vast amount of anonymous content online and most of it is accessible by all ages groups. Consequently, immature minds of school going kids can be easily affected by this type of unauthorized content, which shouldn't be seen by these young children. Owing to this fact, it can lead to cybercrimes such as cyberbullying etcetera. For instance, according to the recent report by 'THE TIMES' has shown that 70% of the cybercrime rate in 2020 occurred due to the inappropriate use of the internet by undergraduate or school going students and it has surged the crimes by 15% in the span of one year only. Therefore, misusage of the internet is more in trend in youngsters than its actual use nowadays. Moreover, earlier kids used to spend their leisure time on extra-curriculum activities like painting, drawing, dancing, outdoor games and many others. However, now, they are wasting all of their time on their mobile phones playing video games, chatting online, making reels on social media and not connecting with anyone in real life. Thus, they are lacking in developing their inherent skills and also lacking interpersonal skills as well, which are crucial in life to excel. TO illustrate, research by 'THE OXFORD UNIVERSITY' demonstrated that children who spend more time on the internet during their whole day are less likely to develop good cognitive skills as compared to the kids who are indulged in other activities. In view of the fact that time is of utmost importance especially during the growth of the youth, it shouldn't be wasted on pointless things like chatting all day online. To conclude, Without a doubt, the internet is the most sensational invention of this modern era still it should be used under supervision by the students. So, that they use the internet only for their educational advantages instead of getting into the wrong path and wasting their significant time.