Many museums charge admission fee while others are free. Do the advantage of charging people to visit a museum outweigh the disadvantage?

Museums are reflective of the culture, and thus, is an essential part of the local or national identity. When a tourist is wandering around the city, visiting a museum is the easiest way for him/her to breathe the atmosphere and to witness the history of the city with a single tour. Based on the importance of museums to the nations and the wonderers, some managing bodies charge a fee for entrance. In this article, the merits and demerits of this approach will be discussed and I will be explaining the reasoning as to why disadvantages outweigh advantages. Although it is not ideal, museums are in need of money just as much as the next building. Maintenance of art, especially of ancient pieces, requires financing. If the museum is not fully supported by governmental bodies, they might find the solution in knocking on the doors of visitors. This is why the admission fee can be advantageous. However, the required money should be found through other methods, such as funding and visitors should fully enjoy the exhibitions without any restrictions. In addition, if such a monetary obligation was to be put, museums would lose the interest of foreigners and citizens. People would choose to drink coffee with the view of the museum over actually visiting it through paying. This, in turn, would decrease the attraction. As the word is not spread and these unique places are not advertised by first -hand experiencers, a vicious cycle can easily rise and put museums into the dusty pages of history. In summary, museums are the culture's faces. Their place is irreplaceable and should not be endangered by the search for money. Advantages provided by admission fees could easily be obtained in other ways, like funding and donations. Disadvantages, however, could bring the end to their existence.