Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is undeniable that alternative medicine has become popular among the population due to the lack of physicians and the long waiting time for a medical appointment. However, from my perspective, the use of non-conventional medicine in preference to a traditional one is an alarming tendency with a plethora of undesirable outcomes. First of all, alternative treatments often lack scientific validation and regulatory oversight. Therefore, going to this kind of specialists you will never know for sure their qualification and the level of knowledge. Moreover, a patient can be misdiagnosed or might receive an inappropriate treatment and the specialists who provide this therapy do not bear any responsibility for it. For instance, a person with cancer choosing herbs over chemotherapy might worsen their condition. Thus, non-conventional medicine can not only be ineffective but also can endanger a person’s health. Secondly, there are myriads of misinformation and myths linked to alternative medicine, starting from the treatment of chronic diseases in a single appointment and ending the miracle cures for incurable illnesses. Thus, individuals who practice complementary medicine create their portfolios filling them with these kinds of cases to hook the desperate patients who are suffering from complicated diseases and look for help. As a result, numerous self-proclaimed healers are the modern-day charlatans trying to earn money at all costs. In conclusion, I tend to believe that alternative medicine is unreliable because it lacks scientific validation and strict regulation to control this field and protect clients from impostors.