In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

Currently, shopping centres or malls have been increasing in a plethora of nations. On one hand, population have been prefered going to the malls, where have better structure, such as bathrooms, food court and air conditioner. Besides, many enterprises have the opportunity to set themselves in a properly selling local. However, there are the local stores that do not have the conditions to pay for staying in a commercial centre. I am biased to agree that it does impact small companies negatively. Firstly, it is necessary to highlight that the increasing of malls is a tremendous result of the economical situation of a certain place. Moreover, if the area has the conditions to build a new shopping centre, that is because the conditions are favourable to do it. However, I consider that the same efforts to build a new place should be spent on the small stores as well because those companies are also of pivotal importance to the local economy. To exemplify, there are some cities in Brazil where the shopping centres caused a terrible consequence because an enormous number of people become unemployed. Secondly, the small stores have the characteristic of offering unique products, such as local crafts, painting and sculptures. On Brazil's shore, this scenario is quite common. As a result, citizens have the possibility to gain money and raise their families. Whereas, a mall has more well-known companies and their products can be bought anywhere, even on the internet. To conclude, I am inclined to believe that the negative aspects overweight the positives. Thus, the same efforts that have been given to the shopping centres need to be given to the small ones. Hence, bearing that in mind, it could be possible for folks to see an overhaul of demeanour, which could bring outstanding small stores in the upcoming future.