Some people think that new houses should be built in the same styles as older houses. Others believe that the local council should allow people to choose different designs for their houses. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed that new houses should remain the same styles as older houses in the local residents, while others argue that the local council should allow citizens to restructure their own houses in the way they want. In my opinion, I advocate the second view for a variety of reasons. On the one hand, there are many local residential areas that have been present for decades, which unknowingly has led to these areas becoming cultural heritages. That means preserving traditional and cultural values, which could develop tourism in these places. For example, Hoi An - is a famous destination and ancient city in Vietnam. Local people in this city are encouraged to preserve their old houses and construct new houses in traditional architectural styles. Therefore, Hoi An has become a popular tourist place that attracts millions of visitors on an annual basis. On the other hand, people also have the right to make their own decisions when it comes to building their houses. First of all, some citizens feel uncomfortable and cannot adapt to the style of old buildings in their neighbourhood. Their rights would be violated if they were forced to live in a house where families do not feel satisfied about the design. Furthermore, if each house in an area is built in a unique style, it will greatly contribute to the diverse image of the town. Finally, in order to keep old houses, it would be more expensive than modern houses. In conclusion, although some people think that the design and construction of modern and traditional buildings should be the same, I personally believe that the citizens should be allowed to decide the way their house will be built.