Many people think that mobile phones should be banned in public places such as libraries, shops and public transport. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, almost everyone owns a cellphone. Many believe that the use of them in plublic should not be allowed. In my opinion, I agree with this view point, although mobile phones are crucial in times of emergency. To begin with, mobile phones are a mode of communication which is undeniably essential to convey message regardless of geographical location. One could not put his phone on hold because they are in a public place since individuals can not predict what will happen during the day. For example, if you are a parent and you have a kid in school, you have to take the call from the school despite the fact that you are in a shop, because most of the time the information will be necessary. It is not practical to totally ban cellphones because emergencies happen and so people should be arlert all the time. Furthermore, it is also not respectful not to answer a call because it does not only affect the receiver but also the caller as they will be worried if something has happened to you. However, it is a good and respectable manner to switch off or put your mobile phone on silent if one is in a library or most public areas because they are distractive. Answering a call makes one a centre of attraction as everyone will focus on your call and they will be unable to concentrate on what they will be doing. For instance, if an individual receives his call in a library all the people there will lose their focus and start listening to your conversation. Therefore, this is not only distractive but also the mass will eavesdrop on your conversation which will not be good in the long run. Most of the time when people go to these places its because they are not expecting any news thus, it is commendable not to talk on your cellphone in public. To sum up, being in a public place usually means you are not expecting any important or business call, therefore switching your mobile phone off is essential so as not to disturb others and to focus on the agenda of the day. Nevertheless, there are some calls that can not be avoided wherever a person is because they carry news worthy to listen to. Consequently, just in case of emergency should one answer them but generally they should be on silent in these areas.