Some people believe that the only purpose for anyone to learn a second language is to travel or work abroad. Other argue that this is not the only purpose why someone needs to learn language.

Nowadays, there are an enormous number of people living around the world who learn a second language besides their mother tongue language. Travelling and working in other countries are the only two particular reasons for taking foreign language classes claimed by many. This essay disagrees with the aforementioned statement and provides examples to support this point of view, before its conclusion is reached. Focusing on second language learning objectives, those who travel or work abroad, a second language is dramatically vital for them. This is due to the fact that, without any speaking, reading, writing and especially listening skills, it is really tough for living a diary life in others countries where the skills mentioned above are required. Base on my thinking, although recently there are a variety of applications that are able to translate between two languages, the competence to use a second language is also needed. In other words, people living abroad should learn a second language. However, making a journey and operating abroad are not the only two certain purposes to learn foreign languages. Languages as English or Chinese are used worldwide. Therefore, there are many topics and activities in a typical day that still require other languages. For instance, watching series through Netflix or whatever platforms, English is really indispensable. Not only enjoying watching movies but also other personal activities like playing some video games or surfing the internet, a second languages is necessary. In conclusion, this essay does not agree that travelling and working abroad are the only two motivations for learning a second language. It argues that there are still many other activities that demand some knowledge from studying a second language. Therefore, studying a second language is essential for everyone’s life.