In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Consumption of junk food in the modern world has become a great concern mainly among workers and youngsters. Because of this fact, somebody claims the Union must increase taxes over its purchase in order to mitigate health impacts. In this essay, I will outline why I consider this trend completely unreasonable. To begin with, undoubtedly, eating too much fast food is one of the newest society setbacks. Due to companies working hours demand and accelerated lifestyle, individuals do not have time to prepare their daily meals, as it requires some attention. The Méqui franchises, how the McDonalds chains are called in Brazil, for instance, report that during weekdays, workers' afternoon lunchtime is their most profitable hour, since the great majority of employees are fit in this insane routine, thus, resorting to quick solutions to substitute a home-cooked meal. Furthermore, if the government enables higher fees on this kind of food, it will force people who relish these affordable and easy services to find other establishments, probably with extortionate prices, to have lunch. When a fast- food chain, such as BurgerKing, is compared with a home-cooked meal chain, like Red Lobster, for example, it is evident why choosing a one-dollar menu helps to save money at the end of the month. As a matter of fact, imposing more purchasing taxes in an attempt to diminish junk food consumption must harm the community, in one way or another, as their working hours would remain the same, and their lack of time to prepare their food at home would not change as well. To summarize, I utterly disagree with the application of higher taxes on fast food, as it will have a negative impact on people's savings. Therefore, if the government wants to, somehow, mitigate health issues related to non-healthy eating habits, they should not problematize the junk food chains.