Smacking children is the best form of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Smacking children has become habitual nowadays among certain demographics of society. These people believe that such a practice instills discipline in the younger minds. This essay will argue why smacking might not be the way to discipline children while other strategies can be implemented for the same. Often parents assume that they will be able to control and have power over children by physically handling them. Children tend to annoy their parents by throwing several tantrums. For example, when the adults are involved in some complicated tasks, a child doing unruly things like misbehaving with another child or painting all over the walls can be irritable. So, they tend to slap the child on the back of their hand to scare them. These are the few reasons why most parents feel smacking helps to discipline the child. However, there are other ways that help parents to control and discipline their children. Instead of smacking whenever a child commits a mistake if parents try to explain to them what are the adverse effects of their tantrums by giving them some examples, a child might understand and try to behave in a good way. For instance, if a child tries to misbehave, a parent should explain how it feels if the other child talks to him in the same manner as he did. In other cases, children will learn from their own mistakes and we as parents should be there to guide them. If a child touches a hot object, he immediately withdraws his hand from the object, and next time, he will be careful about playing with things that he was told not to play with. In conclusion, parents have a great responsibility in disciplining their children. However, in my opinion, smacking children is definitely not the way to shape them while there are other non-violent methods that can be used to do so.