Some people say that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Rewarding pupil is a vital component in a successful education system. Recently, which students are rewarded has become a controversial topic. Whereas some citizens are of the view that it should be based on academic results, others, including me, opine it should depend on the academic progress of the student because this possibly enhances his future prospects and personality. On the one hand, motivating students is the principal reason why some people consider rewarding a student who achieves the highest score. This approach incentivizes the best students to be more dedicated and to engage in their lessons. Advocates of this approach are keen to mention the Nobel prize as an authentic example, as the nominees and winners of this prize are usually individuals who make the most influential contributions in their field. Not only does this prize motivate them to offer more positive contributions, but it also encourages many of these winners’ colleagues to work and achieve breakthroughs. As this example makes clear, if we reward the highest achievers, this would possibly make them strive to be even more successful and motivate their peers to pursue academic success. On the other hand, I would side with those who contend that reward should be based on the pupil’s academic progress. Firstly, this possibly reinforces a student’s self-esteem since he realizes that his effort will probably enable him to achieve several targets. The likelihood of following a progression-based reward method is the building of a healthy personality in a student. An additional positive of this reward system is enhancing a student’s future prospects. Many students find studying is boring and by offering them continuous support they are more likely to be attracted to their lessons. This is illustrated by the findings of a pedagogy study conducted by the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) in August 2020, which emphasized that, in Saudi governmental schools, changing to a progress-led reward system in which the most improved rather than the highest- achieving students were decorated, resulted in a 92% improvement in pupil retention between 1970 and 2020 This shows that if teachers show their appreciation to a student who made academic improvement and award him, this would likely enhance this student’s academic future. To conclude, despite the importance of motivating students by rewarding those who get the highest marks, I believe that showing improvement is a prerequisite to reward them because of the positive influences of this approach on a student’s personality and education prospects.