People today are more concerned with owning material possessions than with developing friendships and family relationships. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Nowadays a days life of individuals became materialistic, which is why few public are more inclined towards wealth and possessions over nurturing a mutual bond of love and care. I completely agree with the aforesaid notion because,in the current scenario, financial status, bank balance and personal needs are the key motives of most people which eventually make them isolated. This essay will elaborate on this in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, the first and foremost reason behind such an attitude is, people are more concerned about the standard of living. Many folk think that if they live in high comfort, it will enhance their respect in society. In order to achieve, this they tend to neglect friends from lower economic groups irrespective of their love and need for them. For instance, in my local community when one young boy became an IAS officer he discontinued all his relationships with school and college friends. Moreover, he shifted his house to a comparatively richer area. As a result, now he is having all the extravagant facilities in his home that gives him comfort but no healthy and caring relationship with people. Secondly, to find and grow friendships one needs ample time as well as patience. In the present,life people are busier in earning their living as the competitive world hits them badly. The article published in The Times of India reported that, a survey conducted about public relationship revealed, 55% of individuals agreed with the fact that due to a busy lifestyle they face a lack of time to meet friends and relatives. Therefore, their life always flows in the direction of earning money than maintaining relationships. In conclusion, to satisfy economic demands the community got involved in work and businesses. In addition to that, the emphasis has given more to living status, as a consequence distancing from people happens. Ultimately, the individual is becoming self-oriented, materialistic and forgets acquaintance.