Too much money is spent in maintaining and repairing old buildings, some people think they should be knocked down and give way to modern building. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's world of technology and the internet, many people believe that restoring old monuments is just waste of money and energy. Instead of maintaining them they should be demolished and one should construct new property. However I believe keeping old structure are as important as keeping our history alive. Firstly, old buildings are part of Country's rich heritage and it is vital to keep them for future generations. By way of keeping them we can demonstrate how rich our culture is and at the same time it holds significant importance as they are timeless piece of art. For instance in many parts of India especially in state of Rajasthan you can find spectacular forts which are pleasure for eyes and finest piece of architecture. With the help of annual repair and maintenance work if those forts can regain their old charm then why shouldn't we keep them? Secondly, old structures attract tourist from all over the world which will not only help the economy but also generates employment opportunities to the youth. For example, Taj Mahal one of the seven wonders of the world based out in Agra, India attracts millions of tourist accross the globe. This not only put India on world map but also help local community to flourish. There are many erections which forms part of the World Heritage site for which organization provide funds to maintain them on yearly basis and if any alteration need to be done to those properties prior approval has to be taken. To conclude this establishments are part of history and national asset which one should be proud of and should not be demolished at any cost. However, they should be preserved in their as is state so that we can show it to our upcoming generation and they can learn from those finest architecture. There are many open space where one can construct new modern structures instead of breaking old ones.