Some people believe that subjects such as art, music, drama and creative writing have a bright future. Therefore, schools should spend more time teaching these subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a community that highly values the economic potentials of creativity-driven activities, hence recommending that they should be more invested in within educational institutions. Personally, I would like to challenge the opinion that these subjects guarantee a fruitful future, but I agree that more opportunities should be provided for students to engage in inventive forms of expression such as art and music. Although making a living from original ideas is likely an insecure lifestyle, mastering a hobby can be extremely rewarding. The statement that creative pursuits are prospectively profitable is poorly evidenced. This is because the financial gains from such undertakings are dependent on the subjective tastes of consumers instead of needs that must be fulfilled. For instance, there are goods a housewife would buy regardless of preferences such as food or household appliances, but she may or may not purchase paintings to decorate her kitchen. That is to say, no matter how satisfactory an artistic creation is to its owner, whether it is commercially effective is determined by uncontrollable predilections of the mass, and no "bright future" can be assured by such arbitrary phenomenon. Nonetheless, pupils should be motivated and granted the chance to pursue creative means of expression. Healthy articulation of one's individuality is of utmost importance for physical and mental well-being, thus it should be sought after by each person irrespective of the form it takes. This is even more so in the contemporary hustling modern society where meaningful interpersonal communication is oftentimes neglected. I would like to draw from my own experience to demonstrate this point. Being an introvert, I usually find it almost effortless to communicate via music instead of words. Every day when sitting at my piano, I appreciate how musical melodies and harmonies have made my life more enjoyable. Therefore, I and many others could not be happier to be offered more training in pastimes we are passionate about at school. To conclude, I want to reiterate that it is groundless to believe that full-time investment in creative subjects would bring about a financially stable life. Nevertheless, to improve the well-being of youngsters from an early age, more time should be spent on imagination-driven subjects in the education setting.