Some people believe that increasing office hour is a reason for many social and personal problems and that is why the number of working hours a day should be reduced by 25%. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this reduction?

It is undeniable that work-life balance is of paramount importance for employees to ensure adequate family time. It is often said that adding extra working hours becomes the main cause of social and individual issues which are encountered by young workers nowadays, thus, it should be cut by a quarter. This essay shall explain the benefits and the drawbacks of this policy. On one hand, decreasing office hours would obviously deliver a plethora of benefits for employees. One of the greatest advantages is people could experience a better family time. By and large, those who have a nine-to-five job often experience heavy traffic congestion when commuting from their office. Clearly, this makes them difficult to spend after-work time with their family. Perhaps an outstanding example of this is dinner at home, which is considered a luxury for most full- time workers. Obviously, shorter office hours would allow them avoiding heavy traffic congestion in the city center, thus, they are able to enjoy their dinner at home. As a result, they are likely to have work-life harmony. On the other hand, cutting the length of time to work at the office also delivers a myriad of adverse effects. Getting lower income is one of the huge negative sides of this option. It is often said that the monthly salary collected by the employees depends on the length of official working time which is regulated by the Government. Take lower-level employees as an example. In fact, as the breadwinner of the family, they would find this policy would exacerbate their financial condition. Consequently, they have to struggle, take out a loan, and pay a high amount of interest expense to make ends meet. To sum up, reducing working hours is a double-edged sword. Although it allows people to experience a better life for all workers, it also exacerbates the quality of living of those who earn a small amount of payment.