It is suggested that young adults should undertake a period of unpaid work, helping people in the community. Does it bring more benefits or drawbacks to the young people?

It is proposed that the young generation should do some charity work to help people in society. I opine it will be more beneficial than disadvantageous with following reasons in the succeeding paragraphs. On one hand, young people doing such unpaid work has a lot of merits. First and foremost, it will develop the human values in the young generation. By helping people in the community, young people will do some good in their time instead of wasting time on social media and spreading negativity. Moreover, assisting the problems of others without any expectations will develop a sense of responsibility towards society in the young generation. Last but not the least, youngsters participating in charity work will eventually aid the government in their development plans of the country. On the other hand, considering the disadvantages, young people doing unpaid work will consume their premium time for nothing which in turn leads to wastage of time. As young people are the future, doing free of cost work leads some of them to think they are not worth it, which eventually leading to a depressed state. Consequently, the happiness rating of that group of society decreases. To conclude, the merits of helping community people without any pay overpowers the demerits of the same. As the society can benefit from charity work done by young people as they are fresh workforce and demerits can be reduced if proper care of young generation will be taken. Thus, the government should bring some schemes in which young people can volunteer and do some good for society.