The young today spend a large amount of their leisure time in shopping centres. It is feared that this could have a negative influence on the young and society. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this view?

There are some concerns about the amount of time that young people spend in shopping centres. Some people believe this has a negative effect on the youngsters as well on society. This viewpoint will be discussed in the following essay as in fact, I fully agree with it. Firstly, in today's modern world parents spoil their children constantly. They buy their kids expensive gifts and allow them to do everything they want. However, this approach influences young people negatively. In this way, they start to think of themselves as unattainable. For instance, if a person has rich parents they believe that they can go to university without studying because their mother and father will pay for it. These young people do not want to take responsibility for their actions. They prefer to spend their leisure time in shopping centres, which is not a bad decision if the time is controlled, instead of, for example, in the library where they can study so that they can have a chance for a prospective future career. In view of this fact, spending their free time shopping for clothes or going to the movies just so they can spend the money received from their rich parents, is not helpful to young people and their future. Additionally, this affects the whole society, because it needs educated people rather than some spoiled kids that can not take care of themselves without their parent's money. In conclusion, I wholeheartedly believe youths today do not spend their time in a qualitative manner. Instead of studying, working or doing some volunteer work in order to help society grow and earn some additional revenue, they spend their free time pointlessly. In my opinion, this kind of attitude and approach are not helpful neither for the youngsters nor for society.