Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Nowadays, the amount of waste has multiplied widely. This situation happens due to the lack of basic education in society, being, thereby, the responsibility of the government to act in favour of settling this setback. In this essay, I will outline why this phenomenon is taking place and what the government can do to reduce it. To begin with, undoubtedly, the population around the globe has increased since the end of the 20th century; consequently, the trash produced has increased proportionally as well. The simple act of throwing chewing gum on the street, or opening the car window to launch a crumpled paper aside mirrors the community conscience. Moreover, this nonsense regards rubbish production since infancy is portrayed in the Nation attitude towards ecological issues. To illustrate this, one case in point would be the Carbon Credits that each country pursues to produce a secure amount of pollutant gases; some countries, such as the USA and China, buy more credits from others lands to maintain their rights in trash production. Furthermore, besides these negative examples aforementioned, the Union can and must be preoccupied with this emergent problem, implementing measures which should be taken to mitigate pollution outcomes. To support this, one of the main actions must be concentrated on education, as today's juveniles are tomorrow's adults, so believing in schooling improvement should be bear in mind. Additionally, using the media as an information aid to encourage the 3 R's (reuse, reduce and recycle) mentality would be essential on disseminating knowledge and assisting in waste proper destination, thus, improving the nature's impacts resulting from the anthropic activity. To summarize, the lack of knowledge regarding trash and its impacts on the world is a huge concern, currently, and there are, indeed, several steps to be taken until we get to a satisfactory point when it comes to the Federation actions.