Many parents today do not spend much time with their children. Why is this? Does this affect parents or children more?

A large number of parents seem to spend little time with their offspring nowadays. This essay will first discuss the reasons for this trend and, secondly, it will address the negative impact it has on children ’s development. The foremost reason that leads to parents spending an insufficient amount of time with their children can be working of both parents. Being not extremely high, the average worker’s salary often cannot fully satisfy a family’s needs, especially those with more than one child. That is why generally both parents have to work full- time in order to cover family’s expenses and to provide a quality lifestyle for their children. As a result, having spent all day at work, parents usually have only a few hours a day for quality time with their little ones. With regards to the question of influence, I think such tendency has greater effect on children. This is because childhood is an extremely significant period in each person’s life when the mental health is actively developing. Psychologists, consequently, emphasize that sufficient communication with one’s children is the key to correct fostering of their emotional wellbeing. To illustrate, recent studies have shown that not only did children who spent regular quality time with their parents demonstrate less mood swings, but they also had calmer attitude in stress situations. In conclusion, I am convinced that were it not for the need to work, parents would be able to spend greater amounts of time with their kids. However, never should they underestimate the importance of such activity as it has direct impact on children ’s mental development.