Task 2: Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views.

Recently, the debate on whether studying at a tertiary institution or getting a job straight after school can lead to a successful career. Since the ideal career for everyone is not the same, the way they need to achieve it can also vary. This essay will examine this point. To begin with, those who claim that accomplishing a degree in university or college can be benefit future career may consider academic performance as the major factor. For example, jobs like professor required a lot of specific knowledge where most of which can be acquired in college. Therefore, for people who are interested in careers with low occupational mobility, having at least a bachelor degree or even a master degree can help them to secure a place when they are applying. In contrast, experiences may be more important than theories for some other job, which are supported by the argument that working right after secondary education will be more beneficial. To illustrate this, jobs like catering and drivers, instead of having a lot of relevant concepts, practice can indeed lead to perfect due to the monotonous character of the work. In this way, the workers who have longer working period may be considered as having a greater competitive edge. In conclusion, it is undeniable that both having higher education background or start working at a young age may lead to a different life path. However, it can be hard to draw a conclusion on which route can lead to a more successful future as people may have different ideal jobs and have various understanding toward 'successful'.