Some people say that the Internet is responsible for destroying social skills of teenagers and young adults. Why do you think the Internet is seen as dangerous in this way and what can we do to make sure that it does not harm the social development of teenagers and young adults?

Some think that the internet deteriorates the social skills of young adults and teenagers. I believe that communication skills are essential for any person regardless of age, and losing them can pose many challenges to an individual. To solve the mentioned problem, long screen hours should be eliminated and offline meetings should be encouraged. Teamwork is what helps people to take steps towards progress and innovations. Being social creatures, social skills cannot be underestimated because they help to connect people and direct their efforts. Without soft skills, there is a high probability that a person will stay alone lowering the chances of attaining high results. Thus, the internet significantly decreases the odds of an individual in most spheres. For instance, some social experiments demonstrated that the projects created by a group of people tend to be more successful than the ones created by one person. However, the issue can be resolved with the help of offline meetings. This would teach teenagers how to be more open to others and be confident when talking to strangers. Also, they will see the right patterns of behaviour from speakers and may try to mimic them. Furthermore, limited screen hours are unlikely to allow youngsters to fully immerse themselves in virtual reality. In other words, it may prevent them from being socially isolated. For example, recent social surveys revealed that teenagers who spend only 2 hours a day in front of the screens are more sociable than those who spend more. In conclusion, the internet is dangerous due to the fact that it destroys social skills which are vital for modern people. Among the possible solutions are limited screen time and offline meetings.