Many parents today do not spend much time with their children. Why is this? Does this affect parents or children more?

In the contemporary world, there is an issue that parents barely spend any time with their offsprings. This can be attributed to their increasingly demanding professional lives and obligations to provide all the comforts to their families. Undoubtedly, in comparison to adults, children are negatively affected to a much larger extent due to the impact on their psyche and behaviour. Nowadays, the foremost reason causing many modern-day parents to neglect to spending quality time with their children is their financial burden of ensuring the family's prosperity. This liability to provide a stable source of finance or to make ends meet forces both parents to not only work full- time but even take on extra hours on weekends. Consequently, being induced to labour day and night, parents do not have enough time to bond and engage with their offsprings; however, even if they did, they probably would be exhausted and stressed to do so. According to the survey among parents in North America, for example, three-quarters of participants have attested that their professional lives and financial responsibilities constrain them from spending much time with their children. This parental tendency of neglecting to spend time with children primarily impacts their offsprings causing emotional distress and behavioral problems. This is because children who lack parental attention are likely to feel emotionally neglected which can lead to lower self-esteem and antisocial or even aggressive behaviors. Moreover, without parent’s attention and supervision, children will also be very likely to take on bad habits, be it an addiction to games or smoking. Having conducted a study, for instance, researchers have revealed that almost 70% of teenagers with depression and behavioral issues statistically spend roughly three times less time with their parents than their peers without any emotional distress. In conclusion, modern-day parents fail to spend quality time with their children due to their financial responsibilities and highly demanding jobs. As a result, affected to a larger extent than adults, not only do children develop various emotional issues, but they also can suffer from behavioural problems.