Too much money is spent on looking after and repairing old buildings. Some people think that these buildings should be knocked down and modern buildings should be built instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Figuring out how to appropriately handle old buildings has been an issue faced by local governments. In cases where they are taken care of using tax income, some people are of the opinion that this practice is wasteful and aged constructions should be replaced by more contemporary ones. I totally agree with this statement. Analysis of the danger posed to inhabitants of up-in-year properties and how their unsightly appearance affects the surrounding area will prove my point. It is quite risky to live in buildings constructed a long time ago. The material forming important components such as the floor or ceiling might have disintegrated beyond repair, making fatal accidents always imminent. For example, there have been catastrophic fire incidents in which many lives were lost due to the deterioration of gas pipes in apartment houses. Accordingly, old construction should not be occupied, which means that they no longer have practical uses. Instead, they should be demolished and substituted by newer, safer architectures. In addition, aged architectures oftentimes negatively impact the appearance of the city. As time passes, the exterior of these constructions degrades similarly to their interior: their windows shatter, their doors unhinged, and their paint scaling off. As a result, they would make the town where they are located look unattractive. I will draw from my own experience to demonstrate this point. I and my family once visited Riga, the capital of Latvia, and there were numerous degenerating constructions that gave a bleak impression to the city. That is to say, old architectures should be toppled and more up-to-date ones erected. In summary, I completely comply with the idea that money should not be invested in the maintenance of old buildings as they are no longer secure to inhabit and their appearance would adversely influence that of the whole town. Therefore, the budget should be given to modern buildings instead.