Practice 2: Some people say that the government should spend more money taking care of elderly people while others think that government spending should be spent more on the education of young people. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this day and age, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on whether government investment should be allocated for SUPPORTING the LIVES of the old generationS or should be spent on developing youngsters’ education. Although the former view can be true to SOME extent, in my opinion, the latter view is more reasonable. On the one hand, there are several culprits that lead people to believe that looking after the elderly needs to be taken into consideration. First of all, despite the fact that medical services for the old can cost a huge amount of money, it is crucial for the state to help them overcome difficulties. In fact, people aged 55 years old and over can no longer work or do heavy tasks as their health and immune system are weaker and weaker, which can put them at risk of serious diseases such as high blood pressure, cancer and diabetes. Because they cannot go to work, they have no income and must live depending on government incentives. Additionally, there is no doubt that senior citizens used to make significant contributions to society in the past, and they also have been fulfilling civic duties like others. Thus, administrators take responsibility for taking care of old citizens. On the other hand, I am more convinced that the education system for the young generationS should be invested more from government funding because of many reasons. One of them is that youngsters are considered as the key future workforce which serveS the country. If they have great opportunities to get access to a good education system from an early age, they will play a leading role in enhancing the country’s development. In particular, when they grow up with a comprehensive upbringing, they get good jobs, which can create cash flow into the economical field and increase the GDP index of this country. Furthermore, it exerts beneficial impacts on reducing the crime rate. As mentioned above, children have chances to approach education as soon as possible, they can form positive perspectives and can be aware of bad behaviours so that children avoid getting involved in illegal activities. Consequently, the more well-educated citizens, the more civilized society. In conclusion, although it is undeniable that caring for old people needs to be taken into account, I still strongly support the view that government expenditure should be invested in the education system for the young in order to make the country better.