Some people believe that international sporting events are the ideal opportunity to show the world the qualities of the hosting nation. Others believe that these events are mainly a large unjustifiable expense. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Sports have always been one of the best sources of entertainment for people around the world. When a country hosts international sporting events, despite the expense involved, it augments tourism, cultural understanding, and economy in a very short period. I strongly agree with the argument that these sporting events are immensely helpful for the hosting nation and in this essay, we will see why these events are beneficial. To begin with, when a country hosts international sporting events, it attracts crowds from different parts of the world. This gives a boost to the tourism industry and benefits the national economy. For example, when FIFA World Cup 2018 was hosted in Russia, people from different nations travelled to watch the games irrespective of the distance and weather, thus driving tourism, spending, and cash flow inside the country. Secondly, the hosting nation has the opportunity to showcase their culture and tradition to impress the foreign nations and this will attract even more tourists in future. To illustrate, the introduction of Indian Premier League cricket matches was a great opportunity for foreign players to play within India and learn more about her culture, traditions and festivals. This exposure also taught them to better appreciate the Indian culture. The recent tweets from David Warner on Diwali are an amazing example of this cultural understanding and appreciation. In conclusion, despite the expense involved in hosting international sporting events, I strongly believe that the benefits associated with such events will be massive and decisive for the state. When a country hosts international sporting events, it is an opportunity for the nation to enhance its brand image and reputation.