social media has compeletly changed the way family and friends communicate with each other. what are the reasons for this? is it a positive or negative development ?

Humans being a sociable creature. Recently, social media, as a new invention, totally alternated family and friends relationship as a result of modern lifestyle. I believe this change has many positive effects on humans, so my reasons will be elaborated on in the following essay. Sociologists bring a lot of reasons for the popularity of social media. The most important one of them is related to lack of free time in modern societies. So, by virtual communications, transport’s time would be saved during visiting family members and friends. The other advantage of this invention is referred to the economic aspect of it. In recent years, many people spread all over the world to seeking jobs, so physically, family visiting would be expensive. However, by using this new invention, people stay in touch with their relatives at an affordable price; while they are far from each other. These new inventions have a few negative points, which are mainly related to cybersecurity. In fact, by using social media, people would be exposed to hacking by cybercriminals. Consequently, the private and/or financial information of users would be hijacked and encountered serious problems. These potential dangers could be prevented by using firewalls and updated antivirus programs. To sum up, although social media have a few disadvantages, such as decreasing privacy and hacking potential, a lot of positive effects on societies have been created by them. Due to positive aspects of social media, family and friends relationships would become more convenient; however, it would not be substituted face to face visiting.