Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that the 21st century's technology has not just revolutionized the world, but greatly impacted our everyday life and choices in terms of free time activities and work. However, there are people who say that the negative aspects of information technology take precedence over the positives. The question is, what possible rationale could make those people say so. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of modern technology. On one side of the argument, there are many individuals who argue that the pros of information technology outweigh the cons. They mainly have this belief because of the many good results of technology, particularly, in terms of communication. Sending information through emails, for example, has become easier than ever, fast, convenient, and safe compared to the old method, which was extremely time consuming and unsafe. Another significant positive provided to the engineering industry, where information technology has given engineers the ability to design and test products before manufacturing them. On the other hand, it is also possible to consider the opposing side where people say that the current technology has more drawbacks than benefits. They have such an opinion due to the noticeable negative effects of the internet, which enable hackers to steal people's personal information. Moreover, children and teens browsing the internet are also subject to view adult contents such as pornography and other extreme materials. Thus, this could lead to porn addiction or mental problems. To recapitulate, as we have seen both groups have valid reasons for their viewpoints. On balance, however, even though the new technology has a variety of negative impacts on some segment of society, nevertheless, I tend to believe that those drawbacks could be addressed and solved, and the goods of technology are by far more superior than the bad.