Global warming is one of the biggest threats humans face in the 21st Century, and sea levels are continuing to rise at alarming rates. What problems are associated with this and what are some possible solutions.

One of the largest threats faced by humans in this century is Global warming which causes a dramatic increase in sea levels. As a result, new issues arise including flooding of houses and land loss but these issues can be tackled by building flood barriers and reducing air pollution. One of the major issue faced by humans due to increasing sea levels is house flooding which causes destruction on a very huge level. People who used to live in coastal areas become the victims of flooding every year. Even, if the ocean level rises few inches their houses overflow with water. Another issue produced by increasing sea level is land loss which is caused due to the higher pollution in the air. There are multiple islands like Hawai and Santorini that are going underwater just because of this. Even, Surface area of few countries including the Maldives and Indonesia decreasing day by day. One effective solution to overcome the flooding to protect coastal area is by building flood barriers and water reservoirs. By storing the water and diverting the overflow government can protect many people living on the edge of the ocean. While on the other hand islands can be protected by decreasing the air pollution level. Reduction of air pollution can be done by planting trees and building forests. However, building reservoirs that are financially demanding can only be implemented on the government level whereas every human being can plant a tree on an individual level. Pakistan is among the top countries affected by climate change due to this Government took an initiative to plant a billion tree to overcome this disaster. In conclusion, flooding and land loss are the major issues caused by rising sea levels but can be taken care of by building flood barriers and increasing greenery level.