Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, there have been an intense discussion about the advantages of a chosen lifestyle for young adults. A few members of the society feel that young adults could gain from rendering non-monetary services in their spare time. In this essay I am going to give reasons why I disagree with this opinion. Young adults are facing a lot of dynamic changes in their physiology and emotions and may well be confused about who they really are. I believe that free services offered in the community may further contribute to this lack of self-awareness and development; the person giving the free service may feel undervalued and unappreciated by the society. A society made up of unhappy young adults will not progress as expected. When young adults are paid for services rendered during their free time, it helps in developing the sense of self-worth and achievement. It is not the amount paid that counts, but rather the sense of being appreciated that goes with it. Furthermore, the little earnings will be subjected to local tax thus contributing to the economic well-being of their society. I also believe that these teenagers will also have the opportunity of learning how to save and spend money. In conclusion, I strongly believe that young adults should be paid for community services rendered during their spare time. This has direct economic benefits and teaches them financial prudence early in life as well as helping them to grow into emotionally balanced adults which are more useful to the society.