Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both views and giver your own opinion

In recent years, there has been debates on how parents engage their wards in their spare time. While some parents are in support of getting their children in group activities in their spare time, others believe these young ones should be allowed to individually decide what they do at such times. I am of the opinion that children should be engaged in group activities more than being left on their own. In this, essay I will discuss the pros and cons of the issue. While young students may prefer to be on their own in their free time, this attitude is not good for their social development. According to many social scientists, our psychological development and well-being depend a lot on social interactions. A child who is left to play alone may miss out on this vital life-changing aspect of his or her development. Furthermore, the signs of depression may be subtle and as such may not be detected early in a person who is allowed to play alone in their free time. Evidence from the literature shows that depressed people may be regarded as being just introverts while in actual fact, they are in need of psychological help and assistance. I strongly believe that social interaction, through group activities will enhance an individual’s character development. Many sociologists have published data that support this claim. Interacting with others helps to develop our sense of caring and mutual respect for others. In addition, interacting together as a group fosters intellectual development. Social scientists say that the young brain is stimulated to work out solutions to problems that arise during group activities, thus fostering brain development that may unlikely be seen in children left alone by themselves. In summary, group activities have far more reaching benefits in terms of social and mental health and development when compared with sole activities