Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Over the last years, advertisement has become a powerful tool in promoting goods and services. However, some people argue, that advertisements encourage people to purchase goods that we don't need, while others are convinced, that commercials can be a good source of information about products and services which could improve our lives. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and explain my support of the former view. Modern society is exposed to various advertisements pursuing us everywhere. Posters and other commercials affect our unconscious minds, making us purchase the products we don't really need. To start with, marketers are well-aware of human behaviour, therefore they try to use various techniques to make an impact on potential customers. For instance, along the streets we can see only happy smiling people looking at us from posters; consequently, we may have a fake illusion of happiness related to the promoted products. Additionally, a lot of adverts create artificial needs; To illustrate, after watching commercials about the last smartphone version release, some may have an intrusive desire to buy it, specifically obtaining a smartphone already. Alternatively, advertisements may give valuable information about goods and services such as contents, bargains, etc; or new products which could improve our lives. Nevertheless, these commercials benefit companies more compared to consumers. Thus, the advantages of commercials for households are quite limited. To sum up, I am convinced that commercials have some benefits. Despite that, advertisements tend to turn people into consumers. Although we cannot avoid advertisements in our modern-day society, therefore we should learn how to think critically in order to stay away from tricky offers of promoters.