More people live alone today than they did in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give your opinion and relevant examples to support your view.

The society has currently undergone a shift from the communual living associated with the previous generations. Nowadays, a significant number of individuals are living by themselves than was noticed in the past. I am of the opinion that this is a less desirable development and will provide relavant reasons for my opinion in this essay. Fristly First, humans are social by nature. Social interactions nutures our mental well-being and helps us to develop strong intellectual abilities. For example, most archeologists believe that the early man was able to achieve a lot, such as the generation of fire from striking stones, because of strong social interactions associated with living together. The safety in number allowed the early man to think of other life preserving skills. Secondly, the rate of sucide is higher in indiduals who live by themselves than in those who have some social support. Studies from various scientific journals show about 75% of people who live a solitary life are more likely to commit suicide. The major reason attributed to this finding, is due to lack of mental support; for those living in isolation, there is limited access to human interactions that could assist them to tide over a difficult life phase. In summary, living alone is not a desirable way of life and it is associated with numerous detrimental mental and social effects. I am of the strong opinion that the current trend as observed today should be a cause for concern and hopefully a long lasting social intervention.