Some say that secondary schools should spend less time on traditional subjects such as history and should spend more time on teaching communication skills and business courses. To what extent do you agree or disagree with it?

Recently, the debate on whether schools should focus on traditional subjects or courses that are more adaptable for current society. As far as I am concern, I can only agree with it to a small extent that up-to-date program should replace traditional ones. In this essay, I will outline my views and elaborate on them. To begin with, it is undeniable that skills like communication and business analysis are becoming more crucial at present. For example, a business procedure such as management has become one of the most popular studies in some prestigious institutions like UCL. Providing related plan in secondary school can expose scholar to specific knowledge and further sharpen their competitive edge. In contrast, the traditional case should be more beneficial to the graduate than certain social abilities. To illustrate this, pupil who may devote themselves to the IT industry may not consider communication as something compulsory as they only need to code most of the time. On top of that, a program like history can not only broaden their horizons but equip junior with mandatory knowledge for future lawyers.  In conclusion, although replacing the previous syllabus with some latest abilities can help students become more competitive in the future life, the target audience is much less than traditional subjects. Since business-related jobs are not the only type of jobs in the future, it is not necessary for the school syllabus to switch.