Some people believe that countries should invite foreign companies to open their branches, offices and factories in order to develop their economies. Others think countries should invest in their own companies instead. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In order to boost the economy of a state, some countries are encouraging foreign direct investment, instigating wrangling over its influence on local companies in that there are many national institutions that are struggling to survive. Resultantly, whereas some individuals claim that governments should allocate funds to their own companies, others contend that countries ought to invite foreign investors. I, too, wholeheartedly feel that foreign establishment helps a nation increase development at a fast pace. Investing in the own county’s farm facilitates in becoming an independent nation due to not relying on other countries for products or services. In other words, if local companies could get enough financial support from a country, it would be possible to produce things for the whole nation as well as export those products, bringing foreign currency, which could be used in other development sectors. Hence, so as to become a self-reliant nation, a country should put more focus on its own establishments. To cite an example, China has become a dominant nation in this world only because of giving priority to its own entrepreneurs. Plausible though it may seem that putting money on own country’s farms would help to become self-sufficient, there would require longer time period for this, no one can give surety of the desires success. On the contrary, when foreign companies open branches or factories in any host nation, the economy of the state show exponential improvement. This happens not only because of getting expert knowledge and funds but also giving jobs to the unemployed people of that nation. Consequently, a country is able to raise its national income causing it to become a developed nation from an under-developed or developing state. In essence, much as investing in own countries farms shows the path of becoming an independent nation, foreign investment brings the blessing of economic development in a more certain and faster way. Eventually, I buttress the stand inviting foreign companies to open their outlets and offices with a view to developing their own economies.