Nowadays some countries encourage people to buy more and more products, which is good for economy. While others believe it is bad for the society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days several states motivate the population to expend more and more money for consuming some products, which has a positive effect on the state’s economy. Besides, some people believe that behaviour affects society negatively. In my opinion, spending capital for buying goods is crucial for an economy but excessive consumption also harms society. Firstly, for improving the live standard of inhabitants of one country, it is necessary to increase its GDP. Therefore, one possibility is to encourage the inhabitants of a state to spend more money on buying new products and heighten their consumption behaviour. Consequently, the shop owner, producer of commodities etc. would generate a higher more payment, which they could also spend on paying a higher salary to its employees and improving the working atmosphere by making the workplace safer and more modern. Furthermore, the country would take more taxes, which thus could be invested in improving the infrastructure, building and modernising educational institutions etc. On the other hand, an excessive consumption of items lowers the money -saving rate, which can lead to people not having saved enough money in old age and falling into old-age poverty. Besides, it rises products prices considerably and, as a result, many people would not be able to afford plenty of products. In addition, it also leads to higher production of waste by every household, which damages the environment tremendously. In conclusion, expending capital on buying more and more commodities might have a positive effect on peoples lives but as long as consumerism does not become too excessive, and everyone spends the money only on consumer items.