Task 2: In some countries, parents expect children to spend long time studying in and after school and have less free time. Do you think it has positive or negative effects on children and society that they live in?

Having less spare time due to a demanding study schedule is expected from kids by their parents in some countries. In my opinion, studying longer instead of enjoying leisure time has a detrimental impact on children and the society they are part of. Therefore, kids who are mostly occupied by extending hours of learning for school might lose or even never develop social skills, which they will need as adults. Besides, having no free time leads to never exploring hobbies and leisure activities. Firstly, spending all their time on studies has an impact on the development of children ’s ability to socialise with other juveniles. In general, Children need to evolve their social skills at a young age; hence it is crucial for them to have a lot of contact with other kids. If parents force their children to study on academic matters the whole day every day, there might not be time for socializing and making new friends. Hence, children may feel lonely more often, which can cause psychological impact as a result they might suffer from some chronic depression. Consequently, the declined happiness level has a tremendously negative effect on children ’s mental health and the community they live in. Furthermore, having less spare time leads to a loss of hobbies and leisure activities, which may cause obesity in children and consequently leads to a burden on the health system as well. Studying constantly, reduces juvenile’s spare time, in which they would normally play with others or do some sport. Therefore, children might gain unhealthy bodyweight caused by sitting the whole day and a lack of activity. However, hobbies and spare time activities are generally necessary for recharging children ’s batteries and releasing daily stress. In conclusion, parents who force their children to study longer in and even after school reduce their spare time, which has a detrimental impact on the development of social skills, the pursuit of hobbies and their health.