In many countries the level of crime is increasing and crimes are becoming more violent. Why do think this is and what can be done about it?

These days, there has been a rise in the number of violent incidents associated with crime. In this essay, I will explore some of its reasons like poverty, mental health, violent visual programmes and easy access to weapons and suggest some solutions. One of the main reason for this issue is poverty. In other words, poverty encourages people to turn to crimes in order to pay bills and make a living. In addition, the anxiety of being unemployed puts the poor under mental pressure which leads them to give up more easily on their faithful living. One way to alleviate this would be offering training programmes which can stimulate employment and bring hope back and give structure to people’s lives. Another common reason for this phenomenon is easy accessibility to firearms for individuals under age 18 which makes it a considerable threat to society. For instance, in the US, most families tend to have some kinds of weapons in their houses without keeping them locked in safe means that this is accessible for other family members. As a result, even a student can use a firearm and start bullying his or her friends or join a criminal group at the end. An obvious solution is for the government to stricter the laws on selling weapons to ordinary people, parents also should teach youngsters to shun criminal and anti-social behaviours. Moreover, although not a major cause but violence in movies and video games is also a contributing factor to violence. To tackle this, publishing visual entertainments with violent content should be reconsidered as soon as possible. To sum up, the rate of violent crimes has been growing dramatically over the last few years, but the majority of crimes can be curbed if the basic necessities of people are met, also the governments should bring in a law to ban gun carrying among teenagers unless the consequences will be catastrophic.