3 Some people believe governments should spend money in saving languages of few speakers from dying out completely. Others think this is a waste of financial resources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an increase in the disappearance of several languages since some native speakers use common languages instead of their indigenous tongue. Some argue that allocating budget to preserve these tongues is wasteful. In my opinion, this could be an effective way to protect language diversity. Firstly, the government should give financial support to prevent aboriginal languages from dying out. However, a language is much more than simply a means of communication, it is hugely valuable part of human heritage. To be more specific, it represents culture as well as holds knowledge amassed for millennia. Therefore, by revitalizing the tongues, we could not only unearth the unknown history but also maintain the culture and wisdom of the nation as well. In other words, when a language dies so does the link to the cultural and historical past. Hence, without a crucial connection to their linguistic and cultural history, people lose their sense of identity and belonging. On the other hand, some object to expense funding on language preservation. First, facilities such as infrastructure, healthcare or education systems play important roles in the growth of a country. Therefore, the government should provide proper funding on these priorities. Specifically, the advanced transport system will eliminate the economic gaps between domestic regions and attract investment from powerful countries. Moreover, with the raising of the ageing workforce and brain drain, the authority should spend money on attracting young talents to serve the country rather than protect languages that seem unpopular and useless in daily life. In conclusion, it may save money in the short term if we allow indigenous tongues to vanish, but in long term, this would have an extremely negative impact on the human heritage.