It is not necessary for people to travel to other places to learn about the culture. We can learn as much as from books, films, and the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The development of human society provides numerous channels for people to explore the world as well as learn the tradition of other countries. While the Internet gives the topics and related background for the places people are interested in, in my opinion, travelling has irreplaceable advantages that media cannot outweigh. Firstly, it is necessary to travel around different sites and experience local culture personally. Rather than obtaining biased opinions from books, making conversation with domestic residents is the most straightforward method to understand the culture. In addition, individuals get chances to study foreign languages which is a fundamental sector for other aspects. Besides, tourists from all over the world can contribute to the local economy by expending money on, for instance, accommodations, restaurants, entertainment as well as on souvenirs, which consequently supports local conditions and customs. On the other hand, people have free access to most content on the Internet and we are able to have a closer view with the help of technology. For instance, museums are accessible virtually for online tourists and foreigners can visit the Moma museum in New York by wearing virtual reality equipment from the other end of the world. Furthermore, it is very efficient to receive the information for various aspects, such as art, food, language, and tradition. In particular, students and young professionals who do have a lack of time can get an overview of any places in a short time. In conclusion, travelling is essential to study the culture of a place and its benefits can not be substituted by obtaining information from media.