Nowadays, the use of animal testing in medical research has become a hot topic. Some people believe that animal testing should be banned, whereas others claim it is necessary. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the present age, animal testing is considered to be a sensitive topic being widely spread and discussed. Some people believe, that animal testing in medical research is necessary, whilst others consider it cruel. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and explain my support of the former view. One of the main factors of using animals for testing purposes is the possibility to save the lives of people around the globe. To start with, nowadays there are many illnesses that still require medical researches, such as cancer or recent COVID 19. Scientists around the world work on inventing new treatments however, it is very dangerous to test newly invented medicine on people. Consequently, drugs should be tested on animals first, for safety reasons and side effects. For instance, mice and rabbits have similar body reaction to certain medicine; therefore testing on animals would reveal all the side effects. Of course, testing on animals does not guarantee, that the treatment is 100% safe for human life, even so, it may prevent serious negative outcomes. In contrast, some may claim that animals can frequently suffer from extreme pain while being tested. This point should be considered by scientists, animals should be given painkillers; this way, animals can be saved from experiencing pain. To sum up, I am convinced, that animal testing should be acceptable only for medical researches, as it would help to save the lives of hundreds and thousands of people. I strongly believe that animals should have rights and their suffering should be kept to a minimum.