Some people think subjects taught in school are a waste of time, while others ‎disagree and believe that it is helpful for students. Discuss both views, and give ‎your own opinion.

One of the highly controversial topics today relates to whether art is a crucial subject for schoolchildren or not. In this essay, I am going to shed some light on this question from both points of view and then give my own opinion on the matter. On one side of the argument, there are people who argue that the benefits of art as an academic subject considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that art is the translation of the imagination of an individual on paper; thus, art aids students in broadening their thinking. It is also possible to say that art acts as a medium for shy pupils to express their emotions directly. One good illustration of this is that children express their love and emotions for their parents by creating a birthday card using their creativity, provided they had learned this art at the school level. Therefore, it is easy to see why this argument has gained support. On the other hand, people often argue that art is just a waste of time. People often have this opinion because students are already burdened with other academic subjects; thus adding art subject will enhance that study load. Additionally, nowadays there are no job prospects for students in art; consequently, they opt for other vocational subjects. To exemplify, students choose either the science or commerce stream, which has jobs available in abundance. Hence, it goes without saying that this viewpoint is credible and realistic. In my opinion, both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I tend to believe that art should be an optional subject keeping in mind that the job prospect of students is is of utmost importance.