In many countries, people throw away a lot of food from restaurants and shops. Why do you think people waste food in this way? What can be done to reduce the amount of food thrown away?

In this day and age, the amount of food from restaurants and shops is increasingly wasted on a yearly basis. In this essay, I will get to the roots of the problem and propose some feasible measures to limit the amount of throw-away food. It is believed that the popularity of wasted food which is bought from restaurants and shops can be attributable to cheaper prices. First of all, thanks to technological advances, food nowadays is mass-produced by modern manufacturing chains, making the prices more affordable for the majority of citizens. Besides, regarding restaurants and stores, they offer attractive discounts to promote sales and maximize profits, which somehow lures consumers to make impulsive purchases without taking their real needs into consideration. In fact, many kinds of food can be forgotten and thrown away when they expire if people have a tendency to buy in bulk to get lower prices. To address this issue, there are several viable solutions that should be implemented. One of them is that it is of vital importance to raise people ’s awareness of food values. In particular, people, especially young generations, should be well informed and educated about the food shortage in many places of the world, and they may therefore value and appreciate the values of food more. In addition, it is the government that should take action by imposing a heavy fine for households that have a large amount of wasted food. By doing so, it can act as a deterrent to prevent people from throwing too much food. In conclusion, the reasons leading to more food being thrown away are varied, yet they seem to be mainly caused by more affordable prices of food. Nevertheless, some measures such as educating people and enforcing strict punishments for those who waste food unconsciously.