Compared to the past, more people are now studying abroad because it is more convenient and cheaper than before. Do you think this is beneficial to the foreign student’s home country?

In this day and age, studying overseas is becoming more convenient and affordable, so it has gained more popularity among youngsters. However, I partly agree that the foreign students’ home country can exert numerous benefits from this trend on account of some reasons below. On the one hand, I strongly believe that an increasing number of overseas students can be beneficial to the home country. One of them is that those with good language proficiency and in-depth knowledge which are gained in an advanced educational environment can contribute to the growth of their nation’s economy. This can be clearly proved by the historical reforms of Vietnam when many intellectuals were sent to Russia to study developments related to technology and politics. Those people then came back and became national leaders who played a key role in building and developing Vietnam as a socialist republic with a fast-developing economy. Besides, more students studying abroad means that the home country can be culturally diverse, which is associated with better opportunities for globalization and attracting more international investments. On the other hand, I am also of the opinion that this trend may pose a threat to the foreign students’ home country. To be more specific, brain drain should be taken into serious account as a worrying problem arising. Indeed, many students go abroad to study and feel reluctant to come back to their nations, which usually happens with those from developing or underdeveloped countries. Compared with the high standards and better conditions in developed ones, Vietnam or Cambodia, for example, cannot provide them with a deserving environment to apply their knowledge and skills or boost their potential. This leads to the insufficiency of a well-educated portion to ensure the development of a country in the long run. In conclusion, although I cannot deny the varied benefits that the home country will gain when studying overseas become more common, I still hold an argument that brain drain, a negative aspect, should not be overlooked.