In many countries the widespread use of internet has given people more freedom to work or study at home instead of traveling to work or college. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

The number of users on the internet has increased greatly over the past few years and is said to grow even more in the coming years. Almost 96% of the world population have access to the internet and this has made their lives much easier. However, whether or not It is agreed that the advantages of working or studying at home instead of travelling to work or college outweigh the disadvantages is subjective and will be discussed in this essay. Firstly, working from home has been made easier due to the wider range of the internet which allows people even in suburban areas to work comfortably and continue to do so in the comfort of their home. A survey conducted by the Microsoft corporation showed that working from home has increased the productivity of many employees and has also reduced the cost of office space. They have concluded that employees have shown such performance as they are more comfortable working from an informal setting and that this option may be viable in the long run as well. Secondly, The average performance of pupils has also risen ever since the dawn of online classes. For instance, a study conducted by the University of Cambridge in 2020, has stated that the grades of students have also gone up compared to recent years and that students have also been more enthusiastic about classes as opposed to when they were travelling to college. The study has also concluded that since the commute time has been non-existent since the rise of home -based learning, student's are able to spend more energy in class. Working or learning from home has its drawbacks as well. Such as, an individual may face more distractions from family and friends if he/she is studying or working from home. In fact, an assessment conducted by Oxford University claimed that 60% of students faced some form of distraction from family and were unable to concentrate fully. To summarise, the advantages clearly outweigh the disadvantages as giving workers and scholars more freedom to opt for working or studying at home has led to time being spent more productively and should be considered a viable option for anyone who would like to take it up provided they have a proper internet connection.