Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it has been claimed by many that people cannot do anything to improve global warming. Consequently, the only ones which can make a difference are governments and large companies. In my opinion, I firmly believe that this statement is incorrect. Furthermore, environmental health is an issue which should be addressed by all the participants in our society. To begin with, it is true that politicians and huge enterprises should work on the creation of a solid system and measures which assist individuals in taking action to improve the environment. Therefore, they should implement a strategy which gives people the tools to achieve the reduction of waste, the reuse of things that are still useful, and finally recycling. For instance, the local Government of Chile has provided citizens with special bins for separating organic waste, plastics, papers, and glass from the rest of the trash that is produced in Chilean households. These are collected weekly by trucks which take the different bins to a specific treatment or recycling plant. Nevertheless, any program created to solve this critical problem would never work if individuals do not perform their tasks. To clarify, it is of high importance that residents take their time to separate their waste adequately. Hence, there is no cross-contamination in the recycling process. Thus, people have a huge role to play in this environmental care situation. To illustrate, in the north of Chile, the amount of waste generated by families has consistently reduced since the plan mentioned above started. To conclude, nature health is an issue which affects everyone, not only institutions. Subsequently, it is crucial that every actor takes part in the solution. Finally, if people want to live in a better world, it is relevant to approach this problem with the necessary urgency.