Living in big cities has a negative effect on people’s health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, a myriad of people, staying in urban areas are suffering from different types of disease compared to individuals, living in rural areas. Consequently, there has been, in recent years, a growing body of opinion that large cities have negative repercussions on people’s physical and mental wellbeing. Being a rational mind, I, too, assent to this notion, for I am of the view that down to excessive pollution of big cities and not having enough facilities to exercise, people are facing many health-related issues. Among the ratiocination to buttress my stance, the one that stands out deals with the downside of urban towns as a prime site of pollution, causing serious illness in the human body. In other words, due to having many factories and vehicles, larger cities the world over have more sound, air and water pollution, resulting in increasing the number of patients in hospitals. To cite an example, an empirical study conducted by Cambridge University reveals that 95% of patients in the UK’s hospitals are from big cities living in highly polluted zones. Hence, living in larger cities indubitably affects our lives negatively. Another critical rationale in reference to why staying in urban areas is not beneficial for health is necessarily synonymous with not getting opportunities to do the workout. To put it simply, because of having high-rise buildings for offices, schools, colleges and residence, open spaces for walking, jogging or exercising are not enough. As a consequence, when an individual does not get a chance to exercise, it is next to impossible for him or her to fit as a fiddle. To exemplify, researchers of Oxford University said that 90% of fatal diseases can be avoided easily if a person does a one-hour workout. In essence, because of the high level of pollution and not having enough spaces for exercising comfortably, large cities are considered a predominant reason for the deteriorating health of those areas’ citizens.