Some people think that family has the most powerful influence on a child’s development, while others think that other factors such as television, friend, music have the biggest effects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

There has been a constant debate about how parents have the biggest impact on their child’s growth. Although some individuals argue that external causes such as television, friends, and music have major effects, I believe that family plays the biggest role in shaping their child as people always look at the family background in any kind of situation. Family or specifically the children’s parents are initially their first teachers. Parents need to set a good example as babies actually adapted a habit through seeing their parents ’ actions and words. If they show a bad example such as abusing, cursing, and other negative actions, their child will unconsciously follow their behaviour as they believe it is right. Other than that, children spend most of their young age with family, so most of their behavior is just them mirroring their parents. A child will react to a situation based on how their parents respond, so it is crucial for the parents to continuously present good actions. On the other hand, some individuals believe that television, friends, and music have the biggest impacts. Moving from toddler to adolescent age, children are now more exposed to the outside world. Teenagers will spend their school years with friends, which can make them influence each other. It is important for them to choose friends wisely, and be a good companion to each other. Similarly, television and music play an essential role in inspiring adolescents. They will choose the perfect type of song or the genre of a TV show to their liking according to what they have been seeing on a regular basis. In conclusion, children will observe and follow what they often see. They will as well experience new things with just a touch of a finger as they grow up and it is our job to teach them only good morals so they will be able to identify the rights and wrongs in any circumstances.